From cozy Java to brutal Native code or There and Back Again

Day 2 /  / Track 2  /  RU / Hardcore. Really hard and demanding talk, you'll understand only if you're an experienced engineer.

We all love Java and other managed languages but sometimes they're just not enough. Need access to the machine learning library, written on C? Or you just want to call the small method from OS API? Or (for just one of your modules!) you need to have a bit more performance than you can ever squeeze out of Java? Well, native code is your choice!

At first, it seems so simple and straightforward — you write a native method, load the native library, call the method and that's it, you are in native code! But then suddenly: JVM starts to crash in random places, performance drops significantly and your repository becomes flooded with the endless C files with so many J-N-I letters inside. At which exact moment something went so terribly wrong?

In this talk we will try to sort all things out: what is so unusual in the interop between Java and native code, and what history it has; how to work with native code right now to avoid segfaultы, performance drawdowns, sudden OOMs; and finally, what awaits us in the future with such projects as Panama and Sulong and will it make any sense to talk about interop when they arrived.



Speaker(s)

Ivan Ugliansky
Huawei

Worked for Excelsior in Excelsior JET project (Java SE certified implementation based on optimizing AOT compilation). Now works for Huawei on JVMs, compilers and new programming languages. Basically, works with runtime: GC, class loading, concurrency maintenance, profiling and so on.

Also, he is co-founder and co-lead of JUGNsk — an official Java Users Group in Novosibirsk and Program Committee member of SnowOne conference.

In his free time teaches C/C++ courses at Novosibirsk State University.

Invited Experts

Andrei Kogun
KROK

Andrei has been working in IT for more than 15 years, for the last 7 years — in KROK. During his career he took part in many custom development projects, mainly e-document flow systems and business processes automatization for several big Russian companies as a senior developer and an architect. At the universities of Moscow, he delivers lectures in development basics with the use of Java technologies. Organizer and leader of Moscow Java developers community.

В нативный код из уютного мира Java: Путешествие туда и обратно

День 2 /  / Зал 2  /  RU / Хардкор. Сложный низкоуровневый доклад, требующий от слушателя знаний технологии.  /  interop,native,low-level

Все мы любим Java и другие управляемые языки, но иногда их бывает просто недостаточно. Нужен доступ к библиотеке машинного обучения, написанной исключительно на С? Или всего-то хочется позвать небольшой метод из OS API? А может, для одного из модулей вы хотите получить большую производительность, чем вы когда-либо сможете выжать из Java? Тогда вам прямой путь в нативный код!

Вроде все просто — пишем нативный метод, загружаем библиотеку, вызываем, и дело в шляпе! Но вот беда: JVM начала крашиться в случайных местах, производительность упала ниже прежнего, а ваш репозиторий заполонили бесконечные сишные файлы, испещренные буквами J-N-I. Что же пошло не так?

В докладе разберемся со всем по порядку: что необычного в интеропе между Java и нативным кодом и какая у него история; как работать с нативным кодом прямо сейчас, чтобы избежать сегфолтов, просадки производительности, внезапных OOM; наконец, что же нас ждет в будущем в контексте таких проектов, как Panama и Sulong, и будет ли после них вообще смысл говорить про какой-то интероп.

Комментарий программного комитета

Классический хардкорный доклад из Академгородка, посвященный аналитическому сравнению и ретроспективному анализу различных способов вызова неуправляемого кода из управляемого, и обратно.

Скачать презентацию

Спикер(ы)

Иван Углянский
Huawei

Работал в компании Excelsior c 2011 года, где являлся одним из разработчиков Excelsior JET: сертифицированной реализации Java SE, основанной на оптимизирующей AOT-компиляции. Сейчас работает в Huawei над компиляторами, JVM и новыми языками программирования.

В основном занимается рантаймом: GC, загрузка классов, поддержка многопоточности, профилирование и т. д.

Также является одним из основателей и лидеров JUGNsk — официальной Java User Group в Новосибирске, и членом программного комитета конференции SnowOne.

В качестве хобби преподает в НГУ курсы по C/C++.

Приглашенные эксперты

Андрей Когунь
КРОК

В IT более 15 лет. В компании КРОК — уже более 7 лет. За свою карьеру принял участие в большом количестве проектов по заказной разработке, в основном систем электронного документооборота и автоматизации бизнес-процессов для ряда крупных российских компаний в роли ведущего разработчика и архитектора. Преподает для студентов московских вузов курсы по основам разработки с применением Java-технологий. Основатель и организатор встреч московского сообщества Java-разработчиков JUG.MSK.