Enum in API — The deceit of illusory simplicity

Day 2 /  / Track 4  /  RU / For practicing engineers

When you put a small enum in your API, it seems that everything is fine and will always always be. But one small enum for a developer is a large step into the unknown for a system of microservices.

Experience has shown, that not everybody knows the problem. And not all who do, agree on how to solve it and how to do it. Because enum makes life difficult from time to time, not constantly. And it always seems that any competent developer could address the situation within a couple of hours. But actually, you have to spend quite a bit of time because a ready-made solution doesn't exist.

Do you want to know what the fuss is about and look at the code, which solves the matter? Then come and see! Speakers will tell you everything and also we will write the code, which demonstrates an ad hoc solution for Rest API using Spring Boot and Jackson.


Download presentation Go to presentation

Speaker(s)

Ilya Sazonov
Ilya Sazonov
Vsegda.Da

Software Developer. Ilya has been involved in the backend for most of his career, but he also managed to work on patent research and even dive into game development for a short time. He has a lot of interest in organizing aggressively developed projects with many participants involved. Currently works in fintech as a backend Tech Lead in Vsegda.Da.

Fedor Sazonov
Fedor Sazonov
 

Java developer. During his career, worked both on a simple backend for web pages and high-performance servers for online multiplayer mobile shooters. Deeply imbued with this topic and now Fedor advises on the creation of game solutions.

He also worked in several startups, where took an active part in building processes for the development and delivery of a product to end-users.

Invited Experts

Yuri Artamonov
JetBrains

For the last 10 years Yuriy have been developing libraries, frameworks and tools for developers. As part of his academic activities, he mentored applied math students from the Samara University.

Now he works in IntelliJ IDEA team trying to improve lives of developers using various tools. Author of the Selenium UI Testing plugin and maintainer of the Gauge for IntelliJ IDEA support.

Enum в API — коварство иллюзорной простоты

День 2 /  / Трек 4  /  RU / Для практикующих инженеров  /  грабли,architecture,microservices

Когда вы добавляете в API своего проекта один маленький enum, кажется, что всё хорошо и так будет всегда. Но на самом деле один маленький enum для разработчика — это один большой шаг в неизвестность для системы из микросервисов.

Как показывает практика, не всем очевидно, что проблема вообще существует. А те, кого это коснулось, расходятся в мнениях — стоит ли ее решать и как это делать. Ведь enum мешает жить не каждый день, и кажется, что любой разработчик может поправить всё за пару минут, если захочет. А самом деле, для того, чтобы побороть неприятности раз и навсегда, нужно потратить время — ведь готового решения нет. Получается такой замкнутый круг.

Хотите узнать в чём суть дела и посмотреть на код, который сводит ущерб к минимуму? Приходите! Илья и Федор расскажут, покажут, а также напишут код, который демонстрирует ad hoc-решение для Rest API и на Spring Boot с Jackson в качестве сериализатора.


Скачать презентацию Посмотреть презентацию

Спикер(ы)

Илья Сазонов
Илья Сазонов
Всегда.Да

Разработчик. Большую часть своей карьеры занимается бэкендом, но успел также зацепить патентные исследования и даже ненадолго занырнуть в геймдев. Интересуется вопросами организации кода в стремительно развивающихся проектах с большим количеством участников. В текущий момент работает в финтехе — руководит бэкенд-разработкой в сервисе рассрочек Всегда.Да.

Федор Сазонов
Федор Сазонов
 

Java-разработчик. За свою карьеру работал как над простым бэкендом для веб-страниц, так и над высоконагруженными серверами для онлайновых многопользовательских мобильных шутеров. Глубоко проникся этой темой и теперь консультирует по созданию игровых решений.

Работал в нескольких стартапах, где принимал активное участие в выстраивании процессов разработки и доставки продукта до конечных пользователей.

Приглашенные эксперты

Юрий Артамонов
JetBrains

Более 10 лет разрабатывает на Java фреймворки и инструменты для разработчиков. Преподавал курсы разработки мобильных приложений и основы UI/UX для студентов магистратуры Самарского Университета.

Сейчас работает в команде IntelliJ IDEA, стараясь улучшить жизнь разработчиков при помощи различных инструментов. Автор Selenium UI Testing плагина и мейнтейнер поддержки Gauge для IntelliJ IDEA.