Boot yourself, Spring is coming (Part 2)

Day 2 /  / Track 4  /  RU / For practicing engineers

Many years ago Java developers used "new" in order to create Java services. They had many handmade configurations mixed with business logic; they even were using copy-paste techniques. They wrote many lines of the same ugly code, which sometimes worked, and sometimes not, but they understood everything they did (mostly). They could easily use debug in order to find a problem and solve it.

And then Spring happened and things have changed… We received a lot of magic from Spring black box and our code became much cleaner and more simple. Business aspects became apart from other technical aspects and configuration code, but debug became more complicated. After we learned how Spring is working we know how to debug our code and solve more complicated problems (mostly).

And then Spring Boot happened…

On the one hand, it solved thousands of problems: versions conflict, configuration issues, infrastructure's beans declarations, problems with environments, and even running or deploying applications including building jar/war… On the other hand, Spring Boot uses so much magic that mostly we come across two scenarios:

  1. Everything is working without any effort even though nobody knows why.
  2. Nothing is working and nobody knows why.

In this talk we will try to reveal at least part of Spring Boot magic by discovering Spring Boot concepts, conventions and the way it works. And even though after this talk you will understand that there is no magic (mostly) you will enjoy Spring Boot even more, because you will be able to solve Spring Boot problems or conflicts without calling 911 (mostly).


Kirill Tolkachev
Alpha-Bank

Kirill is a Developer at Alfa-Bank. He develops different banking API's, forms principles and tools related to microservice architecture. He is a fan of Groovy, Gradle, Spring and Netflix technologies stack. Kirill is a resident of famous Russian IT-podcast “Razbor Poletov”. He knows DevOps methodology like the palm of his hand and has two years' experience of its production usage.

Evgeny Borisov
Naya Technologies

Evgeny is developing on Java since 2001 and took part in a large number of enterprise projects. He went all the way from a simple programmer to an architect, got tired of the routine and became a free artist. Currently Eugene writes and conducts courses, seminars and workshops for different audiences: live-courses on J2EE for Israeli army officers, Spring — for WebEx for Romanians, Hibernate through GoToMeeting for Canadians, Troubleshooting and Design Patterns for Ukrainians.

Contacts

Boot yourself, Spring is coming (Часть 2)

День 2 /  / Зал 4  /  RU / Для практикующих инженеров

Много лет назад Java-программисты пользовались «new» для создания сервисов. Они проделывали огромное количество ручных действий и смешивали конфигурацию с бизнес-логикой. Они даже использовали техники copy-paste. Было написано много строк убогого кода, который временами даже работал. Но при этом они понимали (почти) всё, что делали, и при возникновении проблем могли легко заняться отладкой.

Много лет назад Java-программисты пользовались «new» для создания сервисов. Они проделывали огромное количество ручных действий и смешивали конфигурацию с бизнес-логикой. Они даже использовали техники copy-paste. Было написано много строк убогого кода, который временами даже работал. Но при этом они понимали (почти) всё, что делали, и при возникновении проблем могли легко заняться отладкой.

Потом появился Spring. С ним многое изменилось… Мы получили много «магии» из волшебного цилиндра Spring, и наш код стал более чистым, простым и поддерживаемым. Бизнес-аспекты отделились от технических, но отладка усложнилась.

А затем появился Spring Boot.

С одной стороны, он решает тысячи ранее существовавших проблем: конфликты версий, задачи конфигурации, работа с инфраструктурными бинами, проблему настройки окружения, и, конечно же, запуск или деплой приложения, включая сборку jar/war-архивов… С другой стороны, Spring Boot добавил в наш волшебный цилиндр ещё больше магии. В результате имеют место быть два сценария:

  1. Всё прекрасно работает, хотя никто не знает, как.
  2. Ничего не работает, и никто не знает, почему.

Этот доклад раскроет основные секреты магии Spring Boot. Вы осознаете основные принципы и конвенции, по которым работают типичные Spring Boot-приложения. Наша задача — чтобы вся магия из цилиндра превратилась для вас в куда более прозрачный процесс. Тогда вы сможете не только получать удовольствие, когда всё работает, но и понимать суть возникающих проблем, решая их без привлечения скорой помощи.


Кирилл Толкачев
Альфа-Банк

Разработчик в Альфа-Банке. Разрабатывает различные банковские API. Формирует принципы и наборы инструментов для работы с микросервисной архитектурой. Большой поклонник Groovy, Gradle, Spring и стека технологий Netflix. Постоянный резидент подкаста «Разбор Полётов». Методологию DevOps знает не понаслышке и имеет почти двухлетний опыт её применения.

Евгений Борисов
Naya Technologies

Евгений пишет на Java с 2001 года и принял участие в большом количестве enterprise-проектов. Пройдя путь от простого программиста до архитектора и устав от рутины, он ушел в свободные художники. Сегодня Женя пишет и проводит курсы, семинары и мастер-классы для различной аудитории: live-курсы по J2EE для офицеров израильской армии, Spring — по WebEx для румын, Hibernate через GoToMeeting для канадцев, Troubleshooting и Design Patterns для украинцев.

Наши контакты