Big data in modern biology

Day 1 /  / Track 2  /  RU /

With the development of high-performance experimental methods, molecular biology has entered the path, which astrophysics and high-energy physics follow for a long time so far: it has become a data-rich science. Instead of studying single genes and proteins, one can now try to study the work of a cell in general.

However, everything has its own price: on the one hand, there is a lot of noise in the data. Оn the other hand, instead of concise biological facts, artificial constructs and models become the object of research; the level of abstraction often exceeds the one the biologists are comfortable with.

Using the examples of recent years researches, we’ll try to discuss the problems and prospects of the new science being developed — system biology, as well as how modern methods of data analysis can be used in it. That said, the talk will be elementary from all points of view and does not require any prior knowledge.

Mikhail Gelfand
Mikhail Gelfand
National Research University Higher School of Economics

Doctor of Biological Sciences, member of the Academia Europaea. Deputy director of the Institute for Information Transmission Problems of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Kharkevich Institute). Professor, head of the "Biotechnology" master program at Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology (SkolTech); professor of the Faculty of Computer Science at the Higher School of Economics; professor of the Faculty of Bioengineering and Bioinformatics at Lomonosov Moscow State University.

Большие данные в современной биологии

День 1 /  / Зал 2  /  RU /

С развитием высокопроизводительных экспериментальных методов молекулярная биология вступила на путь, по которому уже давно идут астрофизика и физика высоких энергий: она стала наукой, богатой данными. Вместо изучения отдельных генов и белков, теперь можно пытаться исследовать работу клетки в целом.

Однако за все надо платить: с одной стороны, в данных много шума, с другой, вместо конкретных биологических фактов объектом исследования становятся искусственные конструкты и модели; уровень абстракции зачастую превышает привычный и комфортный для биологов.

Попытаемся на примерах конкретных исследований последних лет обсудить проблемы и перспективы формирующейся новой науки — системной биологии и, в частности, то, как в ней могут использоваться современные методы анализа данных. При этом изложение будет элементарным со всех точек зрения и не требует каких-либо предварительных знаний.


Скачать презентацию
Михаил Гельфанд
Михаил Гельфанд
Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики»

Доктор биологических наук, член Academia Europaea. Заместитель директора Института проблем передачи информации им. А.А.Харкевича РАН. Профессор, руководитель магистерской программы «Биотехнология» Сколковского института науки и технологий; профессор факультета компьютерных наук Высшей школы экономики и факультета биоинженерии и биоинформатики Московского государственного университета им. М.В.Ломоносова.

Наши контакты