Start of main content

Two Years in the Life of a Kotlin Deep Learning Library: From Prototype to Release 4

Room 1
Language -RU

The black-and-white story of how Alexey smeared Kotlin on top of TensorFlow computational kernel and what came out of it. And a few years ago he was young, had no gray hair in his beard, and did not want much: just to train and refine neural networks in JVM language with the speed of TensorFlow or PyTorch. And, of course, to have all the MLOps out of the box, not to write his own! 

Before he knew it two years of working on Deep Learning for Kotlin as a member of JetBrains team (Kotlin for Data Science) passed quickly and the path went from a MVP of 1 class and 3 methods to a multi-module project with hundreds of classes, tests, dozens of tutorials, articles and a few thousand users. KotlinDL became a project with 30 contributors from all over the world: Poland, China, Iran, India, Germany, Canada and Russia. A project, on the basis of which users create multiplatform libraries and game engines with AI elements, and just dabble with the detection of objects from their cameras. 

This talk is not about Deep Learning, as such, but about the uneasy path of growing JVM-library for Data Science ecosystem from scratch and about overcoming difficulties in the intersection of native and snake worlds, where no one has set foot on the types and industrial Java beans. We'll be talking both about how to set tasks for those you don't pay, and about how to parse model weights. About how to properly use the resources of the company you work for to develop an OSS project and the difference between JNI and JavaCPP, and about finding the truth in the bowels of Github Issues titans on whose shoulders it all stands.

If it's a smoothie, it's one with a cream of steel.

  • #jni
  • #opensource
  • #javacpp
  • #onnxruntime
  • #tensorflow

Speakers

Invited experts

Начало основного контента

Два года жизни одной библиотеки глубокого обучения на Kotlin: от прототипа к четвертому релизу

Зал 1
Язык -RU

Вас ждет черно-белая история о том, как Алексей намазал Kotlin поверх вычислительного ядра TensorFlow и что из этого вышло. А ведь еще несколько лет назад он был молод, не имел седых волос в бороде и хотел не так много: всего лишь тренировать и дообучать нейросети на JVM-языке со скоростью TensorFlow или PyTorch. Ну и конечно, чтобы весь MLOps был из коробки, не писать же свой! 

Не успел он моргнуть, как стремительно пролетели два года работы над библиотекой Deep Learning для Kotlin в составе команды JetBrains (Kotlin for Data Science) и был пройден тернистый путь от MVP размером в 1 класс и 3 метода до многомодульного проекта с сотнями классов, тестов, десятками туториалов, статей и несколькими тысячами пользователей. KotlinDL стал проектом, в который контрибьютит 30 человек со всего земного шара: из Польши, Китая, Ирана, Индии, Германии, Канады и России. Проектом, на основе которого пользователи создают мультиплатформенные библиотеки и игровые движки с элементами AI, да и просто балуются с детекцией объектов со своих видеокамер. 

Этот доклад не про Deep Learning, как таковой, а про непростой путь взращивания JVM-библиотеки для Data Science экосистемы с нуля и о преодолении трудностей на стыках с мирами: нативным и змеиным, где не ступала нога типов и промышленных Ява Бобов. Мы будем говорить и том, как ставить задачи тем, кому ты не платишь, и о том, как парсить веса моделей. О том, как правильно использовать ресурсы компании, в которой ты работаешь, для развития OSS-проекта и о разнице между JNI и JavaCPP, а также о поиске истины в недрах Github Issues титанов, на чьих плечах это все и стоит.

Если это и смузи, то с пенкой из стали.

  • #jni
  • #opensource
  • #javacpp
  • #onnxruntime
  • #tensorflow

Спикеры

Приглашенные эксперты