Devops: now Java is not slow

День 1 /  / Зал 3  /  RU / For practicing engineers

Java is a very convenient, fast and modern platform. But lots of people just don't know that. In the times of rapidly evolving platform such as Golang and Node.js it can seem like Java is lagging behind — being one of the dinosaurs that are heavy, slow and (what's especially important) difficult to maintain.

That impression is caused in huge part not by technical problems of Java itself but by managing the infrastructure in ways that are antiquated and incompatible with modern times. Let's use the convenience of working on a specific computer as an analogy: the CPU speed won't help if the monitor is dim and the mouse slips.

This talk shows that DevOps helps not only to improve Mean Time To Repair, but also to keep the project healthy in general. It's about not just saying to admin "set up an application server for me". Maybe it needs not just to be set up, but to be written.

Oleg Chirukhin
Sberbank-Technology

Oleg works on enterprise Java web apps for 8 years already, his primary specialization is E-Government information systems in Public Administration. Today he is employed by Sberbank-Technology where he works on architectural problems and research in the field of automated business process management systems.

Prior to joining Sberbank-Technology Oleg was working on gosuslugi.ru (central e-government portal in Russia), Integrated Electronic Medical Record (central medical portal), information analysis and emergency calls system for Russian citizens, The IUPAT Integrated Member Services information system, Flussonic streaming media server, and StarView Operational Intelligence platform.

Contacts

Девопс: теперь Java не тормозит

День 1 /  / Зал 3  /  RU / Для практикующих инженеров

Java — очень удобная, быстрая и современная платформа. Но не все об этом знают. В эпоху стремительно развивающихся платформ вроде Golang или Node.js может показаться, что Java остаётся позади — во временах толстых, медленных, и (что особенно важно) необычайно сложно поддерживаемых чудовищ.

Во многом такое ощущение складывается у разработчика не из-за чисто технических проблем Java, а по причине использования древних, несовместимых с современностью способов управления инфраструктурой. Можно привести аналогию с удобством работы за компьютером: если у вас маленький мутный монитор и проскальзывает мышка, уже неважно, насколько быстр у компьютера процессор.

Это доклад о том, как наличие DevOps помогает улучшать не только Mean Time To Repair, но и поддерживать общее здоровье проекта. О том, что зачастую недостаточно сказать админу «настройка-ка мне application server». Возможно, его нужно не настроить, а написать с нуля.

Олег Чирухин
Сбербанк-Технологии

Олег работает над веб-приложениями на Java в течение 8 лет, основная специализация — E-Government информационные системы. В данный момент работает в Сбербанк-Технологиях, занимается разработкой архитектуры систем автоматизированного управления бизнес-процессами.

До перехода в Сбербанк-Технологии принимал участие в разработке портала Госуслуг, Интегрированной Электронной Медицинской Карты, информационной системы профсоюзов США IUPAT, а также принимал участие в разработке видеостримингового сервера Flussonic, и инфраструктуры для языков программирования на основе JVM для платформы operational intelligence компании StarView.

Наши контакты