Java byte-code verification: when, how, or maybe to turn it off?

День 2 /  / Зал 3  /  RU / Wild thing

Today's Java developers are increasingly relying on libraries that generate Java byte-code at run time to effectively implement various tricks that are hard or impossible to do in Java. However, while the javac compiler is guaranteed to produce correct Java byte-code, shifting down to the byte-code level requires that you keep track of its correctness yourself. Otherwise, there is a chance to get a j.l.VerifyError at run time upon the loading of a generated class, because the JVM passes all classes through the Java byte-code verifier to enforce strict correctness requirements. Therefore, knowing just the semantics of Java byte-code instructions is often not enough to properly synthesize classes — you also need to know how the Java byte-code verifier works, what byte-code it deems correct, and what it does not.

In this talk, Nikita will tell what mission the Java byte-code verifier carries out in the JVM, when and how it works, whether it may affect the performance of your application, and why it turning it off is so dangerous.

Nikita Lipsky
Excelsior

Nikita is an initiator and a product lead of Excelsior JET project — certified Java SE implementation with AOT compiler developed by Excelsior LLC. Working on the project since 1997 he took part in almost every activity of the project from the JVM core to product management and support. In particular, he is an author of OSGi support at the JVM level in Excelsior JET, Java Runtime Slim-down technology — Java SE modularization implemented in Excelsior JET since 2007, both Java bytecode verifiers and many others.

Contacts

Верификация Java байт-кода: когда, как, а может отключить?

День 2 /  / Зал 3  /  RU / Хардкор. Сложный низкоуровневый доклад, требующий от слушателя знаний технологии.

Сегодня Java разработчики все чаще используют библиотеки для порождения Java байт-кода в рантайме. Делается это для эффективной реализации различных трюков, которые сложно или невозможно выразить на языке Javа. Когда используется Java, компилятор javac гарантирует, что на выходе получится корректный Java байт-код. Но, спускаясь на уровень непосредственно байт-кода, часто нужно самостоятельно следить за его корректностью. Иначе при загрузке порожденных классов на выходе будет j.l.VerifyError, потому что JVM посредством верификатора Java байт-кода строго следит за корректностью байт-кода, который она загружает. Таким образом, порождая байт-код, недостаточно просто знать семантику байт-кодных инструкций — нужно также знать, как работает Java byte-code верификатор, какой байт-код он считает корректным, а какой нет.

В этом докладе Никита поможет слушателям разобраться, какую миссию в JVM несет верификатор байт-кода, когда и как он работает, может ли повлиять на производительность вашего приложения и почему опасно его отключать.


Скачать презентацию
Никита Липский
Excelsior

Один из инициаторов и руководителей проекта Excelsior JET — сертифицированной реализации Java SE, разрабатываемой компанией Excelsior. Работает над проектом с 1997 года и в это время поучаствовал в исследовании и разработке практически всех компонентов продукта, от ядра до продуктовых свойств. Никита — один из авторов поддержки OSGI на уровне JVM в Excelsior JET, технологии Java Runtime Slim Down — модуляризации Java SE, реализованной в Excelsior JET с 2007 года, обоих Java байткод-верификаторов в Excelsior JET и много другого.

Наши контакты