The Curse of Spring Test

День 2 /  / Зал 1  /  RU / For practicing engineers

Nowadays a rare Java developer hasn’t tried Spring Boot yet. Everyone wants to have the latest and greatest tools. We used to write Spring apps, now we write Spring Boot ones. We used to test Spring apps, now… well, you know.

The simpler a tool is, the more magic is happening under the hood. Spring Boot is no exception. But few people think about what exactly happens when we use common tools that are covered in the Spring Test documentation.

Let’s examine the details of the pitfalls waiting for us here and there. In order to do that, we’ll test a “typical” app and ask ourselves the question that should be asked by any developer using Spring and integrating Spring Boot.

Kirill Tolkachev
Alpha-Laboratory

Kirill is a Lead Developer in Alpha-Laboratory. He develops different banking API's, forms principles and tools related to microservice architecture. He is a fan of Groovy, Gradle, Spring and Netflix technologies stack. Kirill is a resident of famous Russian IT-podcast “Razbor Poletov”. He knows DevOps methodology like the palm of the hand and has two years' experience of its production usage.

Evgeny Borisov
Naya Technologies

Evgeny is developing on Java since 2001 an took part in a large number of enterprise projects. He went all the way from a simple programmer to an architect, got tired of the routine and became a free artist. Currently Eugene writes and conducts courses, seminars and workshops for different audiences: live-courses on J2EE for Israeli army officers. Spring — for WebEx for Romanians, Hibernate through GoToMeeting for Canadians, Troubleshooting and Design Patterns for Ukrainians.

Contacts

Проклятие Spring Test

День 2 /  / Зал 1  /  RU / Для практикующих инженеров

Сегодня только очень ленивый разработчик не пробовал Spring Boot. Всем хочется быть на коне и во всеоружии. Мы писали Spring приложения, теперь Spring Boot. Мы тестировали Spring приложения, а теперь тестируем… ну, вы поняли.

Чем проще инструмент, тем больше магии он делает «под капотом». Spring Boot не исключение. Более того, мало кто задумывается, что происходит при использовании привычных всем инструментов, описанных в документации Spring Test.

Попробуем разобраться в деталях того, какие грабли нам аккуратно подложили тут и там. Для этого протестируем «типичное» приложение и зададим себе вопросы, которые должен задавать любой разработчик, использующий Spring и яростно внедряющий Spring Boot на своих проектах.

Кирилл Толкачев
Альфа-Лаборатория

Главный разработчик в Альфа-Лаборатории. Разрабатывает различные банковские API. Формирует принципы и наборы инструментов для работы с микросервисной архитектурой. Большой поклонник Groovy, Gradle, Spring и стека технологий Netflix-а. Постоянный резидент подкаста «Разбор Полётов». Методологию DevOps-а знает непонаслышке и имеет почти двухлетний опыт её применения.

Евгений Борисов
Naya Technologies

Евгений разрабатывает на Java с 2001 года и принял участие в большом количестве Enterprise-проектов. Пройдя путь от простого программиста до архитектора и устав от рутины, он вышел в свободные художники. Сегодня Женя пишет и проводит курсы, семинары и мастер-классы для различной аудитории: live-курсы по J2EE для офицеров израильской армии. Spring — по WebEx для румын, Hibernate через GoToMeeting для канадцев, Troubleshooting и Design Patterns для украинцев.

Наши контакты