JVM TI: how to create a "plugin" for a virtual machine

Day 2 /  / Track 1  /  RU / For practicing engineers

JVM Tool Interface is a conventional API to develop all sorts of tools: profilers, debuggers, or diagnostic utilities. In fact, it's the only legal way to access JVM, be it HotSpot or any other virtual machine.

It turns out that JVM TI can be used not only for creating agents. In this talk, we'll discuss in which cases JVM TI can help developers, including common Java applications. We'll learn about the capabilities of the interface, including new features from Java 9 and 11, and create our own tool.

Though powerful, JVM TI still has its flaws. In the first place, it requires writing C/C++ code. But besides that, it has lots of sophisticated elements and even JVM bugs associated with itself. Using the real-life cases as an example, we'll see what JVM TI issues developers encounter and how to solve these issues.


Download presentation
Andrei Pangin
Odnoklassniki

Leading software engineer at Odnoklassniki, specializes in the development of high-loaded Java servers. Due to the experience he got while working at Oracle in HotSpot team, knows JVM like the back of his hand and is fond of sharing his expertise during various conferences. Authors one-nio and async-profiler projects, leads in the #JVM category on Stack Overflow.

Contacts

JVM TI: как сделать «плагин» для виртуальной машины

День 2 /  / Зал 1  /  RU / Для практикующих инженеров  /  asyncprofiler,jvmtitools

JVM Tool Interface — стандартный API для разработки всевозможных инструментов: профайлеров, отладчиков и диагностических утилит. Фактически это единственный легальный способ обратиться к JVM, будь то HotSpot или другая виртуальная машина.

Оказывается, JVM TI полезен не только при создании агентов. В докладе мы разберём, в каких случаях JVM TI может пригодиться разработчику, в том числе в обычных Java-приложениях. Познакомимся с возможностями интерфейса, включая нововведения из Java 9 и 11, и напишем собственный инструмент.

Несмотря на свою мощь, JVM TI не лишён недостатков. Прежде всего он подразумевает написание кода на C/C++. Но кроме того, с ним связана масса нетривиальных особенностей и даже JVM-багов. На реальных примерах из практики мы увидим, с какими проблемами JVM TI сталкиваются программисты и как эти проблемы решить.



Андрей Паньгин
Одноклассники

Ведущий программист в компании «Одноклассники», специализирующийся на разработке высоконагруженных Java-серверов. Благодаря опыту работы в Oracle в команде HotSpot, знает JVM как свои пять пальцев и охотно делится экспертизой на конференциях. Автор проектов one-nio, async-profiler, а также лидер по ответам в категории #JVM на Stack Overflow.

Контакты