Moving Spring Boot microservices from Java 8 to Java 11: what can possibly go wrong?

Day 2 /  / Track 1  /  RU / For practicing engineers

With the new release cycle, the Java platform presents us a new version every six months, but few people in the enterprise world actually switch to it. Java 11, however, became an exception — due to several factors many considered it a good version to move to. It would all be fine and dandy, but if you've got a Spring Boot microservices landscape, the process of the update can become a tiny bit more interesting than simply toggling versions.

In this talk, we'll discuss not only and not so much new language features as general pitfalls of updating Boot microservices, from build (for example, with Gradle) to deployment of Docker containers (for example, in Kubernetes). We'll also talk about what we can expect from moving to Spring Boot 2.1 (which supports Java 11) and its colleagues bringing with them lots of new things and special effects.

Spring Boot microservice apps developers and testers, who are currently moving or planning to move their products to Java 11, might find this talk interesting.


Download presentation
Vladimir Plizga
СFT

Since his school days Vladimir was enthusiastic about programming and from then on has managed to code everything: from Soviet programmable calculators to modern SCADA systems in production. For the last several years he has been involved in backend development of Internet banking and other follow-up services at CFT (Center of Financial Technologies), where he actively stands for microservices and other popular things. Constantly bothers with ideas about optimization of difficult development/server software testing tasks, nurtures solutions for them while jogging or swimming and then puts them into life, experimenting shamelessly on his colleagues.

Contacts

Перевод Spring Boot-микросервисов с Java 8 на 11: что может пойти не так?

День 2 /  / Зал 1  /  RU / Для практикующих инженеров  /  грабли,ништяки

Комментарий Программного комитета:

Не было печали — апдейтов накачали!

С новым циклом релизов платформа Java стала баловать нас версиями каждые полгода, но мало кто в enterprise-мире торопится на них переходить. Однако Java 11 стала исключением — благодаря сразу нескольким факторам она показалась многим подходящей целью для обновления. И всё бы ничего, но если у вас парк микросервисов на Spring Boot, это обновление может стать несколько более занимательным, чем просто перещёлкнуть версию...

В докладе речь пойдет не только и не столько о новых языковых фичах, сколько о граблях на пути обновления Boot-микросервисов в целом, начиная со сборки (например, Gradle-ом) и заканчивая развёртыванием Docker-контейнеров (например, в Kubernetes). Отдельно поговорим о том, чего ждать от перехода на Spring Boot версии 2.1 (начавшей поддерживать Java 11) и его спутников, привносящих немало новшеств и спецэффектов.

Доклад ориентирован на тех разработчиков и тестировщиков микросервисных приложений на Spring Boot, которые переводят или планируют перевести свои продукты на 11-ю версию платформы Java.


Скачать презентацию
Владимир Плизга
ЦФТ

Владимир со школьной скамьи болеет программированием и с тех пор успел покодировать на многом: от советских программируемых калькуляторов до промышленных SCADA-систем на заводах. Но последние несколько лет погружен в разработку бэкенда интернет-банков и сопутствующих сервисов в ЦФТ, где активно топит за микросервисы и прочие модные штуки. Кроме этого, регулярно заморачивается идеями оптимизации сложных задач разработки/тестирования серверного ПО, вынашивает для них решения на пробежках и в бассейне, а затем воплощает их в жизнь, бессовестно испытывая на собственных коллегах.

Контакты