Reactive, or not reactive: that is the question

Day 1 /  / Track 1  /  RU / For practicing engineers

We all know the saying: "If all you have is hammer, everything looks like a nail". In the world of software engineering it usually happens to the new, hyped technologies, which are not always used as they should be. As a result, we get more complex API which can only be supported by the engineers that went through fire and water, lots of bugs, and other problems.

How can we avoid broken fingers and things destroyed by hammer when we try to implement React?

As an example we'll discuss a system with problems and, naturally, try to refactor it in reactive manner. We'll cover benefits and drawbacks of not only the approach, but also API of specific implementations. We'll evaluate the level of complexity before and after refactoring. We'll try to learn what is joke and what isn't.



Kirill Tolkachev
CIAN

Up until recently Kirill was a lead developer at Alfa-Lab. He was developing different banking APIs, forming principles and tools related to microservice architecture. He is a fan of Groovy, Gradle, Spring and Netflix technologies stack. Kirill is a resident of famous Russian IT-podcast "Razbor Poletov". He knows DevOps methodology like the palm of his hand and has four years' experience of its production usage.

Evgeny Borisov
Naya Technologies

Evgeny is developing on Java since 2001 and took part in a large number of enterprise projects. He went all the way from a simple programmer to an architect, got tired of the routine and became a free artist. Currently, Evgeny writes and conducts courses, seminars and workshops for different audiences: live-courses on J2EE for Israeli army officers, Spring — for WebEx for Romanians, Hibernate through GoToMeeting for Canadians, Troubleshooting and Design Patterns for Ukrainians.

Contacts

Reactive или не reactive, вот в чем вопрос

День 1 /  / Зал 1  /  RU / Для практикующих инженеров  /  spring5,rsocket,webflux,livecoding

Все вы слышали фразу: «Человек, научившийся пользоваться молотком, во всем начинает видеть гвоздь». В мире программирования это очень часто происходит с новыми и модными технологиями, которые далеко не всегда применяются по назначению. В результате мы имеем более сложный API, который могут поддерживать только прошедшие медные трубы программисты, кучу багов и прочих проблем.

Как нам избежать сломанных пальцев и разбитых молотком вещей при попытке внедрить React?

Мы рассмотрим пример системы, в которой есть проблемы, и, конечно же, попробуем отрефакторить её в реактивном стиле. Рассмотрим преимущества и недостатки не только подхода, но и API конкретных реализаций. Оценим сложность, которая была до рефакторинга, и ту сложность, которую мы привнесли после. Постараемся разобраться, что игрушки, а что нет.



Кирилл Толкачёв
ЦИАН

До недавнего времени Кирилл выступал как главный разработчик в Альфа-Лаборатории и разрабатывал банковские API, формируя принципы и наборы инструментов для работы с микросервисной архитектурой. Большой поклонник Groovy, Gradle, Spring и стека технологий Netflix. Постоянный резидент подкаста «Разбор Полётов». Методологию DevOps знает не понаслышке и имеет четырехлетний опыт её применения.

Евгений Борисов
Naya Technologies

Евгений пишет на Java с 2001 года и принял участие в большом количестве энтерпрайз-проектов. Пройдя путь от простого программиста до архитектора и устав от рутины, он ушел в свободные художники. Сегодня Женя пишет и проводит курсы, семинары и мастер-классы для различной аудитории: live-курсы по J2EE для офицеров израильской армии, Spring — по WebEx для румын, Hibernate через GoToMeeting для канадцев, Troubleshooting и Design Patterns для украинцев.

Контакты