The world needs full-stack craftsmen

Day 1 /  / Track 2  /  RU / Get ready, will burn

Developers and IT people in general tend to specialize and become narrowly skilled. In the past there was always the conflict of DB developers vs application developers, or DBA vs developers vs testers. Nowadays developers split even more into front-end/back-end/Android/iOS/whatever else. This leads to inflated teams, inefficient communication, lack of each developer's responsibility, low team's truck factor, and inability to solve production/design problems once and for all instead of applying patches here and there. The term "full-stack" is often applied to developers being responsible for all aspects of their work, but XP/craftsmanship practices go further — we should also take our communication, requirements, operations, testing, etc. under control.

True сraftsmen can be an order of magnitude more efficient than narrowly skilled developers. They not only write code, but solve problems. Surely you want to be one. Let's break it down and see why it works.



Anton Keks
Codeborne

Anton Keks is a software craftsman, co-founder of Codeborne, the only extreme programming shop in the region, frequent speaker at conferences, and a lecturer in Tallinn Technical University. He is also a strong believer in open source software and agile development methodologies, author of a popular network tool — Angry IP Scanner, and a regular contributor to other open source projects.

Before founding Codeborne, Anton has led a team of developers of the award-winning internet-bank of Swedbank for 5 years, gradually introducing agile methods. During this time he has also co-founded Agile Estonia — non-profit organization that holds regular agile conferences in Estonia. During spare time he plays guitar, rides motorbike and travels to remote corners of the world.

Contacts

The world needs full-stack craftsmen

День 1 /  / Зал 2  /  RU / Готовьтесь, будет подгорать

Среди разработчиков и айтишников вообще существует тенденция к узкой специализации. Раньше были разработчики баз данных и разработчики приложений, были администраторы баз данных, разработчики и тестеры. Теперь специализаций стало еще больше: фронтенд, бэкенд, Android, iOS... Команды растут непомерно, начинаются проблемы с коммуникацией, ответственность отдельных разработчиков и фактор автобуса для всей команды падают, а проблемы в продакшне/дизайне решаются наспех, заплатками тут и там. Full-stack разработчиками обычно называют тех, кто отвечает за все аспекты своей работы, но сторонники XP и мастерства создания софта от начала до конца (software craftsmanship) идут еще дальше — стремятся контролировать свои запросы, рабочие процессы, процессы взаимодействия с людьми, тестирования и т. д.

Настоящий software craftsman на порядок эффективнее узкоспециализированного разработчика: он не только пишет код, но и решает проблемы. Хотите так же? Давайте разберемся, что это за принцип и почему он работает.



Антон Кекс
Codeborne

Мастер создания софта от начала до конца. Один из основателей компании Codeborne — единственной в Прибалтике, занимающейся экстремальным программированием (XP). Регулярный докладчик на конференциях, лектор в Таллинском техническом университете. Искренне верит в открытый код и методы гибкой разработки (Agile). Автор популярного во всём мире сетевого сканера — Angry IP Scanner, регулярный коммиттер в другие проекты свободного ПО.

До основания Codeborne руководил командой разработчиков интернет-банка Swedbank, получившего множество наград, постепенно вводя в использование методы Agile. В то же время он основал организацию Agile Estonia, проводящую регулярные конференции по теме Agile.

В свободное время играет на гитаре и дарбуке, катается на мотоцикле и путешествует в отдалённые уголки мира.

Контакты